Chocolate peppermint fudge

I haven’t had great success with fudge in the past. As a kid, I watched my Aunt Edie make it with ease, but for some reason, I could never get into her fudge groove. (I bet she never even knew she had a fudge groove.)

But, now I’m fudge grooving, too, because I found some super-easy fudge recipes, like the one I shared earlier this week for cookies and cream fudge. Here’s another one: chocolate peppermint fudge from Ree Drummond of the Food Network.

It’s easy. It’s tasty. It’s festive looking. What more could you want?

Ingredients:  

  • 3 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 14 oz. can of sweetened condensed milk
  • Peppermint candy, crushed

Line an 8×8 baking pan with foil. Spray the foil with nonstick cooking spray.

CrushingCandyCanesIn a plastic bag, add your peppermint (I used candy canes) and crush using a rolling pin or another heavy tool. A meat tenderizer will work as well. Be sure to seal the bag first. 🙂

In a medium saucepan over low heat, combine the chocolate chips and the sweetened condensed milk. Stir until the chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth.ChocolateMelting

Pour into your pan. Sprinkle with the crushed peppermint. Refrigerate for two hours.

Lift the foil out and peel it off the fudge. Cut into small (or big) squares.

Enjoy it along with your new fudge groove.

ChocolatePepperminFudgeDone

Let me know what you think

