Apple Slab Pie

Happy Black Friday. If you’re reading this, then you’re not battling the frenzied, bargain-seeking-consumed crowds who are weighted down with an assortment of packages and bags that can cause serious injury if wielded in just the right way.

Since I presume you’re in a much better place and you survived Thanksgiving, this is the perfect time to talk food, my friend.

Before T-giving Day, I experimented with apple pie. Now, I realize that apple pie is already great, but in my lifelong quest to find the tastiest of the tasty, I tried this apple slab pie recipe from King Arthur Flour. I was intrigued because making it in this form yields more pieces, which in my house is always a plus.

I loved this recipe because:

  • It was delicious.
  • I’m not adept at making pie crusts. (Yes, that’s my food confession.) So, if you have trouble rolling this out, which I did, you can cobble it together and it’ll still be OK. You can’t do that with a round pie.
  • The crust, while a bit troublesome for me, was de-licious.
  • It made so much I was able to share with my friends James and Cathy and their girls, so there was much apple pie happiness in our neighborhood.

Ingredients:

For the crust:

  • 2 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 tablespoons buttermilk powder CulturedButtermilk
  • (I didn’t know what this was, but I found it in the grocery store in the bakery aisle. It’s kind of like powdered milk.)
  • ¼ cup vegetable shortening
  • 10 tablespoons very cold unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vinegar, cider or white
  • 6 to 10 tablespoons ice water

 For the filling:

  • 1 cup Panko bread crumbs, or other coarse dry bread crumbs; or 1 cup coarsely crushed cornflakes
  • Apples8 cups peeled, cored, and sliced Cortland apples, about 3 1/4 pounds (8 to 10 medium) whole apples
  • 2/3 cup cinnamon sugar

For the optional glaze:

I did not make the glaze. After all, it’s optional. But I did brush some milk on the crust and sprinkled sparking sugar on it. Yum.

  • 1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/3 cupboiled cider*
  • small pinch of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon groundcinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon milk or cream, optional, if necessary to thin the glaze
  • *Substitute 1/3 cup honey, if desired; or 1/4 cup thawed frozen apple juice concentrate, or maple syrup.

Directions:

If you make this let me know how it turned out. Better yet, just bring me a piece. After all, you’ll have lots left over.

SlabPieslice

 

Let me know what you think

