Salted Caramel Frosting

Salty and sweet go together perfectly just like Rock Hudson and Doris Day,  or, so I don’t totally date myself, Kim and Kanye.

And salted caramel? Well, that may be one of the greatest pairings ever, perhaps even better than Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie.

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup butter, softened
  • 3 ounces of cream cheese, softened
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 16 ounces of confectioners’ sugar
  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • 15 caramels
  • 1 tablespoon milk

Beat your butter, cream cheese, vanilla and salt with an electric mixer until creamy. Gradually add the confectioners’ sugar alternately with three tablespoons of milk, beating at low speed until blended and smooth after each addition.CaramelFrostingBatter

Put your caramels in a microwave-safe bowl with one tablespoon of milk and microwave on high for one minute or until smooth. The time may depend on the power of your microwave. You may want to check and stir the mixture after 30 seconds so you don’t zap them too long.MeltedCaramel

Fold the caramel mixture into your frosting, creating some lovely swirls. You don’t want to completely blend it.

Frost something. (To add a little extra zing, I sprinkled a bit of kosher salt on the top.)

FinishedCupcakesBut, you don’t have to take my word for how tasty this frosting is. I frosted some yellow cupcakes and took them to my students in the Social Media Communication class I’m teaching this semester. I frosted half with this and half with the fresh strawberry frosting I told you about earlier.

My students pounced on them like a lioness on a gazelle. I didn’t take any home, much to the chagrin of He Who Must Be Fed.

Let me know what you think

