Perfect Pesto

BasilPlantI love basil. I love basil so much that I have tried and tried over the years to grow it. However, much to my culinary chagrin, I have failed. Until. This. Year.

I don’t know what I did right, but I finally managed to successfully grow basil, and it’s beautiful.

What comes next? Well, making homemade pesto, of course.

There are tons of pesto recipes out there. I used one from the Two Peas & Their Pod blog.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups fresh basil leaves, packed
  • ½ cup freshly grated Parmesan-Reggiano cheese
  • ½ cup extra virgin olive oil
  • ¼ cup pine nuts
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper

PestoInFoodProcessor1Combine the basil, garlic, and pine nuts in a food processor or blender and pulse until coarsely chopped. With the machine running, slowly add the olive oil and process until smooth. Add the cheese and pulse until combined. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

You’re done.

Next time, I’ll share with you what wonderful  dinner I made with my pesto. He Who Must Be Fed was delighted.

Let me know what you think

