The Best Peanut Butter Cookies

IzzieGuestBloggerHi. I’m Izzie. Actually, my full name is Henry Tudor’s Daughter Elizabeth, but that’s just too long, and I don’t know who the heck that is anyway. For the past three years, I’ve been watching my human mom cook. Now, she’s blogging about her cooking and sharing recipes with you.

I think it’s my turn now. Why should she have all the fun? I’ve tasted most of what she’s made, so I’m qualified to tell you what is and isn’t good, right? The only challenge was getting up on her chair (my legs are kinda stubby) and using her keyboard (my arms are pretty stubby, too.) But it was worth the effort. I hope you think so, too.

She loves making cookies, and I love eating them. Her latest cookie is this recipe for the best chewy peanut butter cookies that she got from the Novice Chef blog.

They were delicious. Really, really yummy.  I didn’t get to have too many because my human dad ate them all pretty fast. But, the bits he dropped to me were great.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Sparkling sugar, for sprinkling, optional

Preheat your oven to 350°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. If you have extra, crinkle a piece in your hands. Your canine friends will go crazy. 🙂

Combine the flour, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the peanut butter, butter and both sugars, until light and fluffy. Add in the egg and vanilla.

Gradually add in the flour mixture on low speed. Stir until dough forms.

Use a large cookie scoop or a heaping tablespoon of dough and drop rounded balls of dough onto prepared cookie sheet. Make sure you leave room for spreading. My human mom added sparkling sugar on top, which added a nice crust and a lovely sweetness. You don’t have to, but I would.

Bake for 12 minutes or until edges are slightly browned.  Let cool for 5 minutes on cookie sheets before transferring cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

When they’re cool, give one or two or 10 to your furry friend, who is probably waiting patiently for one or two or 10.

And, you can store them in an airtight container for up to 5 days, but they won’t last that long.PeanutButterCookies

 

Let me know what you think

