Apricot and pecan granola bars

I love snacking. Really. I. Love. It. However, the foods I snack on have changed dramatically in the last several years. In the old days, I snacked on bags (yes, bags; don’t judge me) of potato chips and tubs of dip. Or pints of ice cream. Or chocolate-covered anything. But now I’m trying to be healthier because I. Want. To. Live.

The other day I tried making my own granola bars, and they were so delicious I had to share them in case you have realized that snacking on bags of greasy (albeit freakin’ delicious) chips and fattening dips isn’t really the way to go.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 cup chopped dried apricots
  • 2 tablespoons wheat germ

Preheat your oven to 300°. Melt the butter in a saucepan. Add the honey, brown sugar and salt and whisk together until smooth. Mix in the rolled oats, pecans, dried apricots and wheat germ. Line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper, MixingGranolaMixand press your granola mix into the lined pan. Bake the bars for 30 minutes. Cool thoroughly then cut into bars.

Obviously, you don’t need to use pecans and apricots, but the combination is really delicious. I even noticed He Who Must Be Fed munching on one – and liking it. It really helped his sweet tooth when all of the chocolate chip cookies I made were all gone.BakedGranolaBars

The next time I make these I’d like to try walnuts with dried apples, but the combinations are almost endless: dried cranberries and pistachios, dried pineapple with a bit of coconut and macadamia nuts, dried strawberries with peanuts.

Use your culinary imagination. If you try a great combination, let me know.

 

Let me know what you think

