Coconut macaroons

I know I’ve mentioned before that I don’t like to be bested in the kitchen. Well, a while ago, we were on the road, and He Who Must Be Fed had a pretty strong sweet tooth. He grabbed a package of coconut macaroons at Wegmans, and I heard how delicious they were the whole ride back home.

I had never made them before. But how hard could they be? This recipe is from Food Network chef Ina Garten, and it’s easy-peasy.

Ingredients:UncookedCoconut

  • 14 oz. sweetened shredded coconut
  • 14 oz. sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 extra-large egg whites at room temperature
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt

Preheat your oven to 325°.

Combine the coconut, sweetened condensed milk and vanilla in a bowl. In a separate bowl, whip the egg whites and salt on high speed with an electric mixer that has a whisk attachment.

(OK, I have to digress here a bit. I bought a new mixer with this funky whisk attachment, and this was the first time I MixerAttachmentused it. While I was whisking the egg whites, I needed to grab something, so I let go of the bowl for a second. Just as I let go of the bowl, the egg whites splashed everywhere. Sticky egg whites on the floor, in my hair, in the crevices of the cabinets, all over my shirt. Everywhere.  So, if you have something similar, learn from my mistake. Keep one hand on your mixer and the other holding the bowl in place.)

Back to baking: Once you have successfully whipped the egg whites into medium-firm peaks, gently fold them into the coconut mixture.

UnbakedMacaroonsLine your cookie sheets with parchment paper, and drop about a tablespoon of batter onto the sheets for each cookie. Bake 25 to 30 minutes until golden brown.

He Who Must Be Fed said they’re better than the store-bought ones. Take that, Wegmans.

BakedMacaroons

Let me know what you think

