Luscious lemon cookies

When I first tried these cookies, I never knew they would be so popular. He Who Must Be Fed loves lemon, so I started making them for him. Then I had to stop for a while because his pants were getting a little tight.

Then, when others tried them, they loved them, too. Now, sometimes some of my friends on campus slyly (though it’s really not that slyly) hint that I haven’t made them in a while.

So it seems only right that I share them with all of my foodie friends. 

Ingredients:

Lemons

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup butter softened
  • 2/3 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon baking power
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Sugar

For the frosting

  • 4 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • ½ cup butter, softened
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest
  • 2 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 2 teaspoons butter

Heat your oven to 350°. In a large bowl, mix sugar and butter until creamy, about 1 to 2 minutes. Add honey and eggs and continue beating for another minute. Add the remaining cookie ingredients. Continue beating until just mixed then finish mixing by hand.

Roll teaspoonfuls of dough into balls then roll the balls into sugar. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten slightly with a fork. I forgot to do this the last time I made them, so my cookies will look rounder, but they still tasted terrific. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes. Cool completely.

LemonCookiesFor the frosting, combine all the ingredients into a large bowl. Beat on low speed until mixed for about a minute. You’ll want to start the mixer slowly, or you’ll end up covered in powdered sugar. Then beat at high speed for about two minutes.

Frost your cookies and enjoy.

Let me know what you think

