Irresistible strawberry frosting

I love strawberries. In shortcake. Jam and jelly. Covered in chocolate. On and in ice cream. All by themselves. But I had never thought about making strawberry frosting. I had seen tubs of ready-made strawberry frosting in the store, but they always looked kind of gross.

Then I saw a  picture of a beautiful strawberry-frosted cake in a magazine. The cake was so beautiful that I thought I’d give it a whirl. I’m so glad I did. This frosting is delicious and deliciously simple.

StrawberriesIngredients:

  • 1 cup butter softened
  • 32 oz. confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 cup finely chopped fresh strawberries

Mix the butter with your mixer until it’s light and fluffy, about 30 seconds. Add your sugar and strawberries. Start your mixer slowly, or you’re going to end up with sugar all over the kitchen. Trust me on this one. My Corgi is still licking up the sugar from the floor.

I always use this frosting on a white cake, which is freakin’ awesome. But imagine how delicious – and pretty — it would be on a chocolate or red velvet cake? It’d kind of be like a chocolate-covered strawberry.StrawberryCakeDone

If you try it on a chocolate cake, let me know how it turned out. That might be my next experiment.

One thought on “Irresistible strawberry frosting

  1. Pingback: Mother’s Day gift ideas for foodie moms | I love to cook, and he loves to eat

Let me know what you think

