Stuffed pepper soup

We have a restaurant in town that serves some pretty tasty soups. And, as you might suspect, I don’t like to be bested in the kitchen. So when I saw He Who Must Be Fed enjoying his stuffed pepper soup while we were out to dinner, I realized I needed to make it.

Years ago, someone gave us a recipe for it, scribbled on a scrap of paper. However, in my attempt to organize my recipes, which used to be a jumbled mish-mash, I tossed it. So, I was pretty much flying blind on this one, particularly since I had never made it before.

But, how hard could it be? As it turns out, it wasn’t.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 pounds ground beefBigGreenPeppers
  • 2 big green peppers, chopped (As you can see from the photo, mine were enormous, almost like mutant peppers from outer space. If yours aren’t that big, add a third pepper.)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes
  • 3 ½ cups beef broth
  • 2 cups stewed tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon oregano
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 2 cups cooked rice
  • 1 teaspoon basil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

In a Dutch oven cook your meat, peppers and onions over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally for about 10 minutes. You want the meat to be cooked through and the veggies soft.

Add the remaining ingredients, stir and simmer for about 30 minutes.StuffedPepperSoupCooking

When serving, you may want to add a little grated or shredded Parmesan.

FinishedStuffedPepperSoup

See? Easy-peasy.

Let me know what you think

