Peanut Butter Blossoms

Happy National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day. To help you prepare to celebrate such a momentous occasion, I shared yesterday what I hope will be a new peanut butter favorite for you – Peanut Butter Bacon Blondies. 

Today I’m sharing what is probably an old favorite: Peanut Butter Blossoms.  These are pretty popular. I think almost everyone makes them. However, did you ever make them and the chocolate kiss falls off? He Who Must Be Fed hates when that happens. He hates it a lot. Well, with this recipe from Crisco, your kisses will stay stuck.

You can also vary the kisses you use. I use Hershey’s miniature kisses, which enable me to use three or four delicious kisses of chocolate – depending on the size of the cookie – which my guy and others like even better.

 Ingredients:

  •  1/2 cup Crisco® Butter Flavor All-Vegetable Shortening
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Sugar
  • A bag of Hershey’s miniature kisses (You will likely not need the entire bag, so then I guess you’ll have to eat the rest. Am I right?)

Heat your oven to 375°F. Cream together shortening, peanut butter, brown sugar and 1/2 cup sugar. Add egg, milk and vanilla. Beat well. Stir together flour, baking soda and salt. Add to creamed mixture. Beat on low speed until stiff dough forms.

Shape into one-inch balls. Roll in sugar. Place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 8 minutes. Remove from oven and press your kisses firmly into each cookie. Then return to the oven. Bake for an additional 3 minutes. Cool 2 minutes on your baking sheet then remove to a cooling rack.BlossomsDone

Full recipe disclosure: I noticed the baking instructions at the Crisco site vary from the recipe I have from Crisco, which came in a little cook booklet.  I recommend you follow the instructions I’ve included – baking for 8 minutes, kissing the cookies and then returning them to the oven for 3 more minutes — because I think this is why the kisses don’t pop off the cookies.

Happy National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day. Enjoy.

Let me know what you think

