The very best chocolate chip cookies

One of the first things I remember baking as a young lass was chocolate chip cookies. Over the next couple of decades, I tried many, many different recipes in my quest for the perfect one because, let’s face it, everyone seems to have a version.

But then I found the ultimate recipe – in fact, that’s what it’s called, Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies. Where did I find such a treasure? The recipe was in one of those little recipe booklets that are usually stashed next to the trashy tabloids in the grocery store checkout line. This particular one was from Crisco.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup Crisco® Butter Flavor All-Vegetable Shortening
  • 1 1/4 cups firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped pecans (optional)

HEAT your oven to 375ºF. With an electric mixer, combine shortening, brown sugar, milk and vanilla in large bowl and beat until well blended. Beat in the egg. In a separate bowl, combine flour, salt and baking soda. Mix into shortening mixture until just blended. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts.

Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls, about three inches apart onto an ungreased baking sheet.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes for chewy cookies, or 11 to 13 minutes for crisp cookies. Cool 2 minutes on baking sheet on a cooling rack. Remove cookies to rack to cool completely.

White chocolate and macadamia nut version

I’ve mentioned before that He Who Must Be Fed is a vanilla guy even though he loves these chocolate chip cookies. So I did two quick replacements in this recipe to make him deliriously happy: I replaced the chocolate chips with white chocolate chips and the pecans with chopped macadamia nuts.

WhiteChocolateCookiesHe loves me.

If you try this recipe, let me know if you love it as much as we do.

Full recipe disclosure: When I add the flour mixture, I use the mixer for only about 30 seconds, and then I mix by hand. The cookies seem to turn out better when I put a little of my own muscle into it.

One thought on “The very best chocolate chip cookies

  1. Pingback: Mother’s Day gift ideas for foodie moms | I love to cook, and he loves to eat

Let me know what you think

