The perfect side dish — Winter Bread Salad

I have a food confession: I’m not always good at coming up with good side dishes. Do you have that problem, too? I want something more than just potatoes. I like potatoes, and they’re versatile, but sometimes – insert here my sincere apologies to potato lovers everywhere – they can be kind of boring.

Well, the Food Network Magazine  came to my rescue this month with a Winter Bread Salad, which is freakin’ delicious, a great change of pace from boring potatoes and a great side dish.

 Ingredients:

  • 5 cups chopped stale bread
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 2 cups cherry tomatoes
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 halved and seeded Italian frying peppers
  • ½ cup chopped fresh basil
  • ½ cup grated or shredded parmesan
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Toss your chopped bread – I used ciabatta – with 2 tablespoons of olive oil on a baking sheet. Bake at 450 degrees for five minutes.

WinterBreadSaladIngredientsOn a separate baking sheet, toss the remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil with the cherry tomatoes – I halved them – the garlic and the peppers. Bake in the same 450-degree oven for seven minutes. Remove from oven and let cool – I didn’t, and I have the scars to prove it – then chop the garlic, peppers and tomatoes if you didn’t already half them.

Toss your veggies with the bread and add the basil, Parmesan, balsamic vinegar, and salt and pepper to taste.

If you accessed the Food Network’s recipe, you’ll notice that it calls for ¼ cup chopped olives at the end. But I left those out.

If you try this, let me know how it came out for you and what you served it with.FinishedWinterBreadSalad

Let me know what you think

