Sweet and salty peanut butter/chocolate cookies

I’ve already mentioned my lifelong love of all things sweet and salty. So when I see a sweet and salty recipe, I take notice, and my mouth starts to water. This recipe for sweet and salty peanut butter cookies from Hershey’s caught my eye, particularly since Max, the youngest spawn of He Who Must Be Fed, shares my love of sweet and salty concoctions (along with my acerbic wit, but that’s another topic for another day).

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks of butter softened
  • 1-1/2 cups sugar
  • 2/3 cup peanut butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1-2/3 cups peanut butter and chocolate chips
  • 3 to 4  cups crushed pretzel pieces

Heat your oven to 350 degrees.

Place pretzels in a zippered plastic bag and crush them. I used a meat tenderizer, which worked really well.

Beat butter, sugar and peanut butter in a bowl until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla and beat well. In a separate bowl, stir together flour and baking soda then add it to your butter mixture. Be sure to blend them together well.

RollingcookiesinPretzelsStir in your chocolate and peanut butter chips. Shape into 1-inch balls then roll in the crushed pretzel pieces, gently pressing the pretzels into the dough. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake 12 to 13 minutes or until light brown around the edges. Cool one minute then transfer to a write rack to cool completely. FinishedePretzelCookies

If you go to the recipe from Hershey’s, you’ll notice a few differences in my ingredients. Here’s why:

  • Max suggested using a combination of peanut butter and chocolate chips, and he was right. The added chocolate made these even more delicious.
  • I crushed four cups of pretzels – the recipe calls for four to five cups — but I only needed about three. It wasn’t a huge problem because I used the remaining crushed pretzels to make bark. But, if you don’t have any plans for those additional crushed pretzels, you may want to crush three cups and see if you need any more before crushing more.
  • I also crushed my pretzels into slightly smaller pieces – ½ inch and smaller — so they’d be easier to add to the cookie dough.
  • I didn’t bother with the optional coarse salt. The salt from the pretzels was more than sufficient.

Enjoy. I hope you like these.

Let me know what you think

