Easy and festive candy cane kisses blossoms

Some of my friends don’t like chocolate. I know that’s hard for chocoholics to understand, but it’s true.  So, when I’m baking something special for them for the holidays, I look for non-chocolate recipes. I found a great cookie recipe last year – ironically from Hershey’s – that my friend Jen loves: candy cane blossoms. They’re made with Hershey’s candy cane kisses, which are available only at Christmastime. (Thank goodness because I can eat an entire bag of them with no – well, maybe a few – regrets.)

Not only are these cookies easy and delicious, but they’re also beautifully festival for the holiday season.FinishedCookies

Ingredients: 

  • 48 Hershey’s candy cane kisses
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • Red or green sugar sprinkles

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. While your oven is heating up, remove the wrappers from the kisses.

Beat together the butter, granulated sugar, egg and vanilla until well blended. In a separate bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda and salt. Add to the sugar mixture the dry ingredients alternating with the milk.

Roll into one-inch balls then roll into your red or green sugar sprinkles. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet.RollingCookies

Bake 8 to 10 minutes. (Nine minutes was perfect for my batch for Jen.) Remove from the oven and cool two to three minutes. Then place a kiss in the center of each cookie. Remove the cookies to a wire rack to finish cooling.

KissingCookies

Enjoy.

Full recipe disclosure: I didn’t unwrap all 48 kisses in case my cookies were a little bigger, and I didn’t need all 48. Plus, I didn’t want any unwrapped kisses left over because then I would just eat them. I think I unwrapped 36, which was just enough. Of course, if you want to eat the rest, have at it. They are yummy.

3 thoughts on “Easy and festive candy cane kisses blossoms

Let me know what you think

