Sausage and lentil soup better than Carrabba’s

A few weeks ago,  my husband and I were eating dinner at Carrabba’s. He had forgone the salad — no surprise there, my guy’s not a huge fan of leafy, green food — for the sausage and lentil soup. While he was lapping it up, he was raving at how delicious it was while I was nibbling on my salad and wishing I had followed his example (although I’m a pretty big fan of green food).

He was enjoying it so much that I almost felt as if the chef at Carrabba’s were challenging me. “So, signora, you see I make the soup your husband loves best,” I imagined the chef saying, with a condescending sneer.

So, I said, “You know, I can make that.”

“You can?” He Who Must Be Fed answered, with love in his eyes.

“Certainly.”

Of course, that meant  that I would have to produce said soup because He Who Must Be Fed would not forget.

I decided to alter a recipe for lentil soup with peas and ham that I had already made. So, I did a little recipe experiment.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 pound Italian sausage (I used part sweet, part hot)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon fresh basil, chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 2 medium carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1 pound Yukon gold potatoes, diced (that’s about three to four medium potatoes
  • 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups water, divided
  • 1 cup dried red lentils
  • 3 tablespoons plain yogurt.

Heat the oil olive oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add the sausage and onion and cook until the sausage is brown and the onion is tender, about 10 minutes. Stir frequently. Add the celery, carrots, potatoes, 1/2 cup water and salt and pepper. Cover and cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are soft, about 10 minutes.

Add the chicken broth, 1 1/2 cups water and the lentils. Cover and bring to a simmer. Uncover and cook until the potatoes are tender, and the lentils begin to fall apart, about 15 minutes. Stir in the yogurt and basil.

PotoforNov.15Post

The result? I nailed it.

Try it and let me know if your loved ones love it, too. Then we can go back to Carrabba’s and give the chef the evil eye.

Let me know what you think

