Super (and super easy) taco soup

There are a few reasons why I look forward to blustery, cold weather coming to Northwest Pennsylvania. My two favorites are sipping hot tea while curled up with a good book (as opposed to sipping iced tea while curled up with a good book in the summer) and making and eating soup.

Over the years, I’ve tried — and we’ve enjoyed — so many soup recipes that I no longer buy canned soup. Canned soup can be convenient, but most of the soups I make are so simple, and they taste about a million times better than anything those soup makers can make, so why buy it?

This easy and awesome taco soup recipe came from my friend, Margot, who made it for a campus event. It was by far the best soup there, and she was kind enough to share the super easy and super delicious recipe.

Ingredients: PhotoForNov.10Ingredients

  • Two pounds of ground beef
  • One medium onion diced
  •  Two 4-ounce can of chopped green chilies
  • two cans Rotel tomatoes with green chilies
  • two 15-ounce cans of kidney beans
  • one 24-ounce can of Bush’s Black Bean Fiesta Grillin’ Beans
  • one small can of corn
  • one package of taco seasoning
  • one package of dry ranch-style salad dressing mix
  • one cup of water

Cook the beef and onions until the beef is brown and the onions are tender. PhotoforNov.10GroundMeatThen add all of the other ingredients. Cook for about 10 minutes to allow all of the flavors to get comfortable with each other.

If you’d like, serve with some grated cheddar cheese, green onions, sour cream and crushed tortilla chips on top.

PhotoForNov.10PostSoupIsDone

If you try this and add anything else funky on top, let me know.

2 thoughts on “Super (and super easy) taco soup

  1. Wow! This soup really is super! I made this Monday night for dinner. We had an impromptu “dinner party.” So I needed something quick and easy – and something that could feed many mouths. This was all those things and so delicious! It received many rave reviews from my guests and my husband. My one friend even went back for seconds – something that he never does! And we were so excited for the leftovers on Tuesday night! I did have to play MacGyver, though. For some reason, I could not find the Fiesta flavor of the Grillin’ Beans. I didn’t want to drag my daughter to another store – so I grabbed a can of seasoned black beans and a can of corn with poblano and red peppers. This seemed to be a fine substitute! We will definitely be making this soup again this winter!

  2. Hi, Annie,
    That’s fantastic. I’m so glad you tried and enjoyed it. It’s one of Dom’s favorites, so I make it pretty often. I love it because it’s good, and it’s so easy to make. Next time I make it, I’ll try the seasoned black beans and the corn with poblano and red peppers. That sounds like a winner.

Let me know what you think

