Peanut Butter Bacon Blondies

I heart bacon. I think I’ve mentioned that once or twice or thrice before. So, a recipe that features those delectable strips of smoky deliciousness always makes me stop and read. However, this recipe for Peanut Butter Bacon Blondies from the How Sweet It Is blog made me stop, read and say, “Holy crap, I gotta make those ASAP.” This recipe combines my beloved bacon with peanut butter, which is that coveted salty/sweet combination I can’t seem to get enough of.

I highly recommend you try it. In fact, tomorrow would be a particularly good day since it’s National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day.

I made these for the youngest spawn of He Who Must Be Fed, and he loved them. I think you might, too.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of butter, melted
  • 2 cups of brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 6 sliced of bacon, fried and crumbled

BlondiesBatterPreheat your oven to 350°. In a large bowl, mix together sugar and melted butter until smooth. Add in eggs and vanilla. This will give you a lovely, caramel-colored batter that I thought was really pretty.

Combine dry ingredients together, and mix into the batter. Fold in the bacon. Spread evenly in a 9 x 13 pan. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until done.

BlondiesUnfrosted

Peanut Butter Frosting

  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2-3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2-3 tablespoons milk
  • 6 slices bacon, fried and crumbled

Cream butter and peanut butter. Add sugar gradually. Add vanilla. Add milk 1 tablespoon at a time until you get the consistency you want. You may need more milk, depending on how thick or creamy you want your frosting.

Frost your blondies, then top with crumbled bacon.BlondiesFrosted

BlondiePiece

If you try these, let me know how they turned out. What a great way to celebrate National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day, don’t you think?

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Bacon Blondies

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Blossoms | I love to cook, and he loves to eat

Let me know what you think

