It’s the best cake ever – that’s what he said

Last month, my husband — He Who Must Be Fed — spent a week out of town for work. I missed him, so I wanted to have a special treat waiting for him when he got home to show him how much. After cooking for him for almost 28 years (doesn’t that mean I get some sort of prize?) I have a good idea of what he’ll like and what he won’t.

When my friend, Paul, posted on Facebook  a recipe for pumpkin dream cake with pumpkin spice brown butter frosting, I knew I had found the recipe (because my husband’s middle name is Brown Butter).

He was barely in the door before I presented him with The Cake. GreatCakePhoto

Now, remember when I wrote that I have been cooking for him for almost 28 years? Well, my friend, that means a lot of cake has passed through my hands and into his face.

But when he tried this one, he said, and I’m cleaning up his language, “That’s the best (%$#*&) cake you’ve ever made me.”

Best. Cake. Ever. Yep, that’s what he said.

Try it yourself, and let me know how it turned out.

Recipe full disclosure: I only put the cake in the freezer for 30 minutes, and it turned out just fine.

8 thoughts on “It’s the best cake ever – that’s what he said

    • Dan,
      Hi. I haven’t tried the other frosting recipe. Honestly, I’m afraid to since this frosting recipe has been such a hit. If you make it, make sure you scrape the little brown bits from the browned butter at the bottom of your saucepan into your bowl. Those brown bits give the frosting a richer, deeper flavor.
      Pat

  1. First off – love, lovr, LOVE your blog! Everything about it is just fantastic. Personal, but to the point! Great idea on the full disclosure! (Apparently, this comment is not to the point!) Secondly – if your hubby loves brown butter – have I got the most perfect cookie recipe for you! Brown butter oatmeal chocolate chunk cookies from How Sweet It Is! They have been my go-to cookie lately. So delicious and so easy! http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/03/brown-butter-oatmeal-chunk-cookies/

    • Annie,
      Hi, doll. How’s the adorable daughter of yours?
      I’m so glad you like the blog. It’s been really fun so far.
      And, thanks for sharing the recipe. I will definitely try it out. I think I could put brown butter on broccoli, and Dom would eat it.

  2. Hello! My baby girl is doing good! I want to try some of these recipes for her, too!! Think she will like them! Let me know what you (and your hubby!) think of the cookies!

Let me know what you think

